The Boy is 4 … well almost

Standard

Tomorrow the boy turns four! I am in awe that it was in fact four years ago that we were in California getting prepared for this little guy to arrive. When it came time to prepare for his fourth birthday, he proclaimed that his friends must come!

This was his first, celebrate with friends party. Since he is a lego fanatic, it made sense to have a lego party! This was the most organized I have been for party planning. I actually allowed myself enough time in advance not to get stressed out. I fretted a little but overall was calm, well except when the morning of the party the Boy was ill and there was the fear that all would be cancelled. Thankfully he seemed to pull through and the party was great.

Ethan's 4th B-Day

No lego party would be complete without the Lego brick cake. Betty Crocker has awesome instructions with a video. Cake decorator I am not, though I tried my best and the kids enjoyed it.

Ethan's 4th B-Day

Ethan's 4th B-Day

The decor was simple yet great with Lego sheets printed off, balloons and little Lego men that are part of our collection. Most of the time the kids were outside or playing else where and hardly noticed the decor.

The Boy was trying to blow out his candles before we were done singing!! He did great!

The Lego brick pinata was a “hit”. We did it last. I made it from a paper bag, flour, water and paint. They always end up tougher than I want, but the bigger kids that tagged along helped bust it open! Rather than a free for all, elbow to the nose, candy spillage, I created 11 bags of candy with Lego stickers on it for each kid. No feeling the injustice of the world at this party (Well at least not with the candy).

Ethan's 4th B-Day

All in all .. awesome little party. One kid proclaimed “I want a party just like this!”, and I knew I had got the spirit of the party down.

The Boy had fun, felt special and enjoyed having his friends over (with a few siblings tagging along of course!) There are more pictures on Flickr though a little limited as his guests are typically not posted.

18 responses

  1. You totally rock! I LOVE that cake! We are having Theo’s 5th birthday a bit early because of our move… I wish he would have that cake! he wants an erupting volcano with dinosaurs on it!!!!????

    Your Piniata is TOTALLY THE COOLEST.
    What a party to treasure! Well done momma!!xx

    • The time flies eh?

      Thanks … it amazes me how much effort goes into decorating cakes πŸ™‚

  2. Wow! He looks like a kid now, not a baby anymore. The time has gone so quickly. Great cakes and pinata!

    Happy birthday Ethan!

  3. Wow! You did great, what a great idea about the candy bags inside the Pinata! I have always disliked the mad grab, I am totally using that idea! I really would have loved to have you as a mother.

  4. Awesome cake! I want some cake now πŸ™‚ Your guy looks so “grown” up all of a sudden, how does that happen so fast?

    We found out we’re having our own little guy this July and are quite excited, he may be a bit spoiled with by his 3 big sisters I’m suspecting….