Summer Reading — Part One

Standard

I am in awe that B returns to school in a week and a half. It has been such a great summer, epic family vacation, lake swimming lessons, soccer and tons of time to read! B has faithfully read The Chronicles of Narnia with me almost every night. Both E & B participated in the Summer Reading Program at our local library and enjoyed the challenge (well mostly hehe).

I too have been reading, quite a spectrum of books. I was fortunate to receive a copy of Solitary Man by Carly Phillips in iBook format from the lovelies at Blue Dot Literacy. It was the first time I read a book on my iPhone. As I am an avid library user, used book connoisseur, I suppose I am an old fashion gal longing to hold a book in my hands, smell the pages … Yet it was very nice to curl up, snuggle the toddler and have screen of my phone glow with an entire story at my fingertips.

Solitary Man was a gripping enough story to hold my attention (twitter & facebook are also on my phone, very distracting). The characters are engaging and I could relate to the main character, Kevin. His self doubts, the inability to see himself as others see him are all things I can relate to. To witness his progression to opening his heart to new possibilities had me captivated in the story. This book is so throughly a romance novel, yet there was enough realness to it that I enjoyed escaping into the story. Perfect light summer reading.

Solitary Man was one of Carly Phillips first novels, she has gone on to become a New York Times bestselling author. What first attracted me to wanting to read the book was the author’s history. Carly Phillips left her career as an attorney to stay at home with her daughters (and she knits! The woman is clearly amazing! hehe). Be sure to check out Carly Phillips website, it very well done and even has a list of books she has written that you can download (oh how I wish more authors had well designed websites)!

By the way, if you enjoy reading e-books, some of Carly Phillips older work is available for download at totally reasonable prices (like $2.99 check your favourite e-book retailer).

Comments are closed.