Fitness Friday – Believing in ourselves

Standard

On my previous blog, I had started, stopped and started again a weekly focus on fitness. Once again I am going to attempt to have a Fitness Friday.

I am really excited to share something with you all. I have been running for 3 years now. I started just after Ethan turned one. It started off really slow. I would go out for a walk in the evening, post-supper time. We were living in the apartment then and I was going mad in the small space, my emotions were all over the place and I was adjusting to our new life. I needed something to strive for, something that was mine, something that took the edge off. What started off as walking, slowly, painfully became running. The path to running was not an easy one for me. It hurt. A lot. I was so out of shape. Gradually it got easier, I shed some pounds and was off. Then we started house shopping, then we bought a house, then I got pregnant .. hehe again.

I did not keep up with fitness as I hoped I would that last pregnancy. I did walk a little, as we purchased a treadmill that winter we moved into the house. However it wasn’t until the baby was born and time passed that I started again. This time running wasn’t as painful. I was not, nor do I ever strive to be the ultimate running machine.

I run because I love it. I feel empowered, like if I can run 5 km, 10 km I can do ANYTHING…it evens me out, I feel happier (Although sore at times) and stronger.

Since I started running again it has been the back of my mind that I want to run a race. I am inherently shy (those who know me refuse to believe this, I fake it well. However I get insanely nervous experiencing new things, and people. In fact it usually takes a big push from my husband or for the love of my children for me to take that initial step) and it took a lot for me to take that next step.

I signed up for the CIBC Run for the Cure, October 2nd. It is a 5km race. I am so excited, nervous and have started to train running outdoors, rather than only on my treadmill. To add to the pressure, I also need to raise money for Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation. My goal is $150 … While fund-raising is not my strongest suit, I do hope that I will be able to achieve this goal.

Until October 2, I will continue to share my light training and will be asking all of you to consider donating to this worthy cause. I believe in the strength and power a woman has when she has a goal to achieve, we just have to believe in ourselves.

If you are compelled to help me achieve my goal and donate to a worthy cause, please check out my personal run page at the CIBC Run for a Cure website! That is where YOU can sponsor me. Please 🙂 Thank you for your consideration.

3 responses

    • oh Holly!!! Thank you so much for the donation, your support means so much to me. You are an amazing friend. I feel so fortunate to have had the chance to be your friend. Raechelle

  1. Hi Chelle, greetings to you and been a while since I took a short break from blogging and wishing you all the best in your running. I seem to have a mental block and only managed 3.2 km or 3.5 the most.

    Keep it up and go get them!! 😀