Fitness Friday – Making it a family thing

Standard

This is how my life is, an entire week goes without me being fully aware that time is passing. As a family of five, we are enjoying the time together that it seems to disappear without a lot of recognition.

This week for Fitness Friday I want to focus on Family. A lot of people wonder how I run, workout with two small kids at home still. It takes a lot of work. Just being honest with you, it isn’t easy. However it is worth it.

As a family we have joined a fitness centre that recently opened in our area. It has a fantastic pool, an indoor track (YAY!) and three full size gyms, plus yoga, fitness classes and a weight/cardio area. The centre is simply awesome. Our children are a little young to use all the aspects, however they love the pool and last Saturday they enjoyed walking/running on the track while I ran (with their Dad and it was family time so they were permitted).

Since joining, I have started taking C, to the child centre while I run the track twice a week. I needed to get off the treadmill and be more prepared for the CIBC Run for the Cure next Sunday (ahh!!! Next Sunday!) At first C was so not keen to be left but she is getting used to the idea. The fact that I take her for a quick swim afterward definitely helps.

Fitness for me isn’t just about me. I want my entire family to participate, something that so was not on our radar in the past. Once I got motivated and started running, everyone else had their interest peaked too. Even my husband has gone to the gym a few nights each week to walk/run and workout.

When I work out at home, I use the television. In part because I worry that C will get hurt coming too close to the treadmill and then I know where they are. However the deal is, it has to be something educational, for the preschooler and toddler that means letter & word programs. These strategies have been developed over time and I am always prepared to be interrupted or stop altogether if the kids are off that day. When I do yoga or sit ups etc I am used to having a cat or a kid climbing on me, rubbing me or lying down with me proclaiming how “easy” push ups are (they always cheat!)

How do you make time to work out? What challenges have you overcome to reach your fitness goals?

By the way … THANK YOU so much for helping me reach my fundraising goal for the CIBC Run for Cure. There is still time to donate (did I mention you receive a tax recite?) and if you are in the area you are welcome to come out Sunday October 2nd to cheer me on!


One response

  1. Great post Chelle. Like you I love it that “fitness” is just part of family life. The kids think it’s normal – and yes we too have had to work things so that we can both get it in! The kids often ask M to take them for a run which he does, and they sometimes join me when I’m working out.

    Your fitness centre sounds perfect! Would love to have something like that!

    And yay for reaching your goal – cheering you on!